Broken strings & Pretty things

The world, seen through a young girl's eyes.

A new year.

What I have lost in the past year:

  1. Dear friends.
  2. Relationships.
  3. A father.
  4. A beloved grandmother.
  5. A stable living situation.
  6. A steady income.
  7. Naivety.
  8. Trust in some key areas.
  9. The ability to be completely open.

What I have gained in the past year:

  1. True friends.
  2. Hope.
  3. Confidence.
  4. Dreams.
  5. Independence.
  6. AS Grades.
  7. Faith.
  8. An adventure half way across the world.
  9. Life changing experiences.
  10. The ability to drive.
  11. Forgiveness.
  12. A proactive work ethic.
  13. The ability to understand what I want.
  14. Self-worth.
  15. Assurance.

This past academic year has been a wild one, riddled with joy and passion and pain and tears and love. I have been with some of the greatest and most beautiful friends, whom I may not have survived without. I’ve lost significant people in my life. I’ve experience such highs, and the deepest lows. I’ve felt run dry and I’ve seen hard work paid off.
It’s been a year. A long, hard, fruitful year.
And I’ve treasured every last minute of it.

(Inspired by the wonderful writing of the lovely Jaclyn Rae, polkadotteapot.wordpress.com)

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A new year.

  1. YOU have a wonderful attitude … May God Bless you continually & make known his wonders to you … peace & love to your & yours!

Leave a Reply

