Broken strings & Pretty things

The world, seen through a young girl's eyes.

Finality.

From the beginning, I saw the end.
I always knew it would be that way; I always knew it was coming, but I ignored it. I saw the imperfections, and rather than avoiding it, I let time play out until we reached the end of the tunnel: until it was time for it to end.

There are some things in life which we know will never be good for us, but we choose to pursue them nonetheless. And you were that very thing.
The time I brought breakfast round to your house, I knew that I shouldn’t have gotten on that train. I knew that I shouldn’t have let this story unfold; shouldn’t have let our lips touch. I shouldn’t have let desire proceed responsibility.

I shouldn’t have let my heart go, when I knew it was only half that I was going to part with.
I should have read the signs and known that this just wasn’t the time.

I’m so sorry.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Finality.

  1. I can totally relate to this. Very nicely done :)

Leave a Reply

