Broken strings & Pretty things

The world, seen through a young girl's eyes.

Love letters.

To the one with the guitar,
Thank you for making me the person who I am today. I can’t deny the fact that I had some beautiful memories with you at the time, memories which shaped and changed my heart forever. You were my first love, you were the first time I felt those crazy and passionate feelings; you were my first heartbreak, you were the first time I knew just how deeply love’s fickle sword could cut.
You changed, you did some things that we both live to regret. But I forgive you. Remember that darling.
Remember that you can be different; that you have a second chance to make another girl just as happy as I was once, a very long time ago.
Just remember to be yourself. Stop wearing that mask that we both know you feel safe behind.

To the one with the broken strings,
Remembering you is like remembering the laughter of summer. You posed such confusion; such uncertainty and ambiguity, looking back just makes me smile. Because it was far from a romantic love, but the sheer hopelessness of two best friends trying to take that larger step. And it failed. catastrophically. Though we are not quite the best friends we used to be, I’d like you to know that I still love you. That you’re my beautiful and stupidly annoying brother whom I will never quite forget. You helped that first step of moving on, and helped begin the change into the person I now am.
You’ve made more of an impact on me than you could ever imagine.

To the one with the cherry soda,
You are the words that I will never be able to say. For many reasons.
You are my beautiful secret, yet also the most tragic enigma to walk through my walls. Because you’re so hard to decipher. You’re foreign: everything is and was so hard to decipher with you, and I don’t know if I ever will. Maybe that’s part of the beauty with you.However, you’re like malaria: reoccurring, and deadly. Each time you come back, you take a little part of me. You add another dash of hope. Because that’s the thing: you always come back. And that is what makes you so intensely addicting.
And I love/ hate you for that.

To the one with the trainers,
I’m sorry for what I did. I’m sorry for turning into a girl who I never expected to. I’m sorry for putting strain between us and I’m sorry that you can’t forgive me. I’m sorry for ruining our friendship.
I’m sorry for hurting you.
I’m sorry that I didn’t love you.

To the one with the uno cards,
It seems like there is nothing to be said, as I have said it all before.
Some days I miss you tragically, others I can just about silence your haunting voice.
One day, I pray that I will see you again. You were the one that got away.
You were seeing a flawed person perfectly.

To you,
Despite my untamable heart, I’d like you to know that I really do quite like you.
I enjoy being with you. Please can we stay that way?
I’d really quite like that.

All the love in the world,
Alys

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

