Broken strings & Pretty things

The world, seen through a young girl's eyes.

Impending.

His shoulder is strong, safe and secure. The conversation flows so easily and I could fall asleep right here, in this dark and hopeless room, without a second thought. His cool words tangle my heart in a web of hope and dreams as each pause slowly draws me in further and deeper. We talk the hours away as I slowly listen to his words serenade my being, and there are so many times that I yearn to just to lift my head. Just once. I yearn to gaze into those blue eyes that second longer. Enter that moment even more deeply. But if I do, it’s too soon.
So instead, my head lies protected in the deep shelter of his chest.

But that’s what makes the situation so treacherous. So antagonisingly simple, yet so deeply complex. Sitting in this room, everything is easy; everything is perfect; everything is safe. Outside, everything is different. Can’t we just stay in here forever?

This situation is impending, and I am not quite sure in what sense. Whether it is impending doom or impending joy, I’m not certain. At the passing of each day, it’s getting closer and closer. I have no idea of what is going to happen. All I know is that it’s coming soon.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

