Broken strings & Pretty things

The world, seen through a young girl's eyes.

If I were God I wouldn’t let the children die.

Not me, I’d use my power
Wouldn’t you?
You’d never find me sitting round in heaven
Twiddling my eternal thumbs
As some poor baby fades to nothing
Wailing for a love that never comes
I’d get my act together, heal some pain
Hurl some thunder
Send some rain
Clothe some orphans
Dig some wells
Throw some parties
Ring some bells
Feed some kids
Win some fights
Build some homes
Fly some kites
That’s what I would do
I’d look for helpers who would be my hands and feet
They’d show my face in every slum and street
They’d broadcast love and let compassion fly
That’s what I would do if I were God
I wouldn’t let the children die

Would you?

-Adrian Plass

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

