Broken strings & Pretty things

The world, seen through a young girl's eyes.

On making yourself happy, rather than everyone else.

This past few months has taught me one of the most valuable lessons is life: no matter how hard you try, someone in the world is going to dislike you. Yet, it is quite possibly one of the most refreshing things I have come across.

Gone are the days of trying to please everyone: acting perfectly, looking perfectly, speaking perfectly and never acting out of turn in the attempt in to not offend anyone. I became so scared to open myself to certain people in fear of rejection, I carved myself into the plastic conformity society intends us to be moulded into. However, no matter how hard you pretend, or how perfect you seem to be, some people just aren’t going to like you. And that’s a fact.

Recently, a girl whom I have never really gotten to know seems to have taken it on herself to help hurt me alongside my ex boyfriend. Strangely, I myself have never shown her any unkindness, yet she feels responsible to give be harm. Why? Because she just doesn’t like me, for her own personal reasons.
But that’s okay. We’re different.
All this has taught me that no matter what I do, no matter how I feel, I can never get everyone to like me. My own beliefs and ideals will offend other people’s’ way of life, and there’s no changing that. Should this cause me to change who I am? Of course not. In fact, quite the contrary. I’ve learned to fully express myself and make myself happy, rather than hide and attempt to please everyone else instead.
Life is too short to be a fraud. I was made to smile at the smallest detail, and laugh at the stupidest joke. Life is here for me to make choices for myself, rather than what is least likely to rub someone the wrong way.

After all, even if I were the most perfect woman in the world, someone would still be able to find a flaw in me.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “On making yourself happy, rather than everyone else.

  1. love that quote

  2. jungleintherumble on said:

    Amen

Leave a Reply

