Broken strings & Pretty things

The world, seen through a young girl's eyes.

I can’t wait to get away.

Next week, I’ll be away by the sea and away from the all the drama right now.

It’s not the fact that I want to run away from my problems, not at all, but it’s the fact I just need a break. I need to be able to walk around by myself in a beautiful landscape, take pictures and be myself again without any worries. I’ll be able to clear my head and forget all the trouble you’ve caused me these past few weeks and, if it’s not too much trouble, forget about you. Most of all, it means when I come back to reality, I’ll be able to face you again refreshed and ready to endure it before my exams.

It’s important sometimes just to take a break. It’s not running away or being weak. In fact, it’s the healthy thing to do. If we’re constantly surrounded by negativity and stress, we’ll only get dragged down by it and it’ll break us apart. By taking a break, we are able to properly take a step back on life and see it in perspective. We are able to understand how to fix it, how to improve it and get out of the situations we’re in.

That’s why, this time next week, I’m going to be free. I’m going to feel the wind in my hair, the smell of the English sea and capture the beauty in the landscape. I’m going to walk on pebbly beaches and find myself. I’m going to spend time with my brother who I hardly see and savour the time with my extended family whom I don’t always get the time to be with.
And while I’m there, I’m going to be ready. I’m going to be ready to come back and put all this drama down. I’m ready to lose any inhibitions and enjoy life even if you try to lurk in the shadows. Don’t even doubt me. I know I’m going to do this, and I know once this is all over, I’m going to have a beautiful and exciting life in front of me.
But until then, I just need to get away.
But I’ll be back, and I’ll be so much stronger.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

