Broken strings & Pretty things

The world, seen through a young girl's eyes.

Today marks a new chapter of my life.

(In the most literal sense of the phrase)

Today, I’m moving on from these past six months.
I’m moving into a new, exciting place, filled with new challenges and opportunities I never had before.
I’m moving into the light with the friends that I’m so happy to be back and safe with.
I’m moving away to become the happy person I used to know.

I’m going to move away from the pain you’ve inflicted on me. I’m moving away from the hurt you’re still trying to give to me just to build yourself up higher.
I’m leaving behind all these lies and jokes and tears and I’m moving away from you.
I’m moving to greater places, where you can’t catch me and hurt me again.

Today marks the day where I leave my old self and my old life with you behind. I’m ready to become me again, love myself again and be free.
It’s a new chapter in my life. That was before, and this is after.

And I couldn’t be any happier.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Today marks a new chapter of my life.

  1. We should all have this poem printed out and set over our beds, in our kitchens, in our lounge-rooms. This would not simply mark the separation from another “out there” but the healing and separation from the negative self who keeps dragging us down. The negative other “out there” is simply the long hand way of understanding what we do to ourselves . . .i would submit. Beautiful poem = liberating & uplifting

    • Thank you so much! It’s so true, we need to stop being held back by our insecurities and fears and just step out in our life. We need to move away from anything that holds us back, person or self, so we can all just live life to the full.
      Thank you so much for taking your time to read and comment, it means so much.

  2. Cassidy Rose Anderson on said:

    Thank you. <3

Leave a Reply

